A careless whisper

In the saturnine depths of the dark night
an uncanny silence haunts my being
as a ripple of the tiniest thought
marrs the darksome waters of the mirror lake.
As I peep down judging its terrific depth
its mighty undercurrent draws my eyes
and from the guarded treasure of my mind
a pearl slips down to the abyssal pit.
I plunge without a second’s reason
into the blood steeling tides of the night
my entire being in resolute faith
of retrieving my precious jewel.
From under the dark heavy rocks
the sins of countless souls gaze upon me
and among the eerie fragile weeds
a million jewels clamour to be found.
But I search for my precious beauty
till it was a choice of life or her.
Heart weakening, muscles failing
mind filled with her imprints..
in a burst of irrational insanity
choose to lose it with her.
As the light leaves my dewy eyes
I let out a desperate call to her
pleading to her clandestine sheen
to join my soul on its journey.
The clouds cleave apart to
reveal her celestial form
and in the gaze of my lifeless eye
the shiny orb is forever sealed .

Leave a comment